Recent Changes -



edit SideBar


Annapolis Maryland


Located in Anne Arundel County, this capital city is part of the Baltimore-Washington Metropolitan Area. It is located on the Severn River, about 2 miles from it's entrance into Chesapeake Bay, 26 miles south of Baltimore, and about the same distance east of Washington DC. It is also home to the United States Naval Academy and St. John's College.


In 1649, Puritan exiles from Virginia established the town of Providence. They then moved south to the better protected harbor. This town held many names from Town at Proctor's, Town at the Severn, and Anne Arundel's Towne (after the wife of Lord Baltimore who died soon afterwards). In 1694, Sir Francis Nicholson moved the capital of the royal colony here and threw out the Catholic government and renamed it Annapolis after Princess Anne.

The town flourished culturally and financially until 1780 when Baltimore was made a port of entry. Annapolis was made temporary capital of the U.S. in 1783 after the signing of the Treaty of Paris. During the Civil War this place was the site of a Parole camp as well as a major military hospital. In 1845, the United State Naval Academy was founded here.


Annapolis Maritime Museum
Jewish Museum of Maryland
William Paca House
Maryland State House?
Hammond Harwood House


Also Visit: Private jet cost or business jet booking .... Leaf Tickets, Fallsview Hotel